They walk up and ask if I remember them.  “I was in your rehabilitation class.  I want to tell you that I kept thinking                        about what you said to us when I was in prison and I have never forgotten.   I have been out ‘x’ years and I have a                            job and family and I’m never going back.”

Isn’t it a shame that sometimes it takes 20 or 30 or even, as in my case,  40 years, before you get “it”?   “It” being of course, life.

In my fifties, I had a chance to teach a rehabilitation course to several hundred inmates in a jail setting. I know what it is like to have men on their way to a life in prison suddenly recognize the truth and years later tell me: “I kept thinking about the things you talked about, and I decided I’d never go back to jail again. I’ve been out X years now and I have a family and a good job.”

I know many will never understand what this life is really about. Too bad. Hell of a choice.

All of us can teach.  We are all supposed to.

Whether we are teaching our kids to ride a bike, or how to act in the circumstances of life, every responsible human being [and that is a very limited field!] is a teacher.

There is a great satisfaction in knowing that a few words [a few thousand] may have saved someone’s life.   Maybe even the lives of children not yet born, or a wife not yet embraced.

I know it is possible to absolutely change the course of a life.

I know that because I am a living example–once dead, now alive.

This monologue [OXFORD Dict.; “a scene in a drama, where a person speaks alone”  !!!]  will be about teaching.  It will most likely be a “walkabout” [look it up] OR a trip through the long “scenic route” because unfortunately there are no short cuts through life.  But, the purpose will be to open eyes  and minds and hopefully hearts.

